NRL Grand Finals Collection: The 1980s

NRL Grand Finals Collection: The 1980s

Availability: Out of stock

  • Description
  • Details
  • Where to buy

For many Rugby League fans, the 1980s era is epitomised by the exploits of Canterbury-Bankstown and Parramatta, two dominant clubs who split eight Premierships between them across the decade. After Ted Glossop’s Bulldogs – dubbed ‘The Entertainers’ for their exciting brand of football – took out the 1980 decider, the Eels won an incredible three Grand Finals on the trot between 1981 and 1983, led into battle by legends such as Peter Sterling, Brett Kenny, Mick Cronin and Ray Price. But the Bulldogs, guided by Terry Lamb and Steve Mortimer, halted their run in 1984 in a bruising Grand Final and went on to establish their own dynasty. With 5 Grand Final appearances each in the 1980s, the Eels and Bulldogs’ epic rivalry would define an era, but the 1980s also saw the rise of other clubs to challenge the status quo, as Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles and new boys the Canberra Raiders both won Grand Finals in the latter part of the decade, while Newtown, St George and Balmain also came tantalisingly close to Premiership glory – notably the brilliant Tigers side of 1989, whose Grand Final clash with the Raiders is considered by many to be the greatest decider of all time.

Sit back and relive Rugby League’s showpiece event with every Grand Final of the 1980s, presented in their original broadcast format..

Genres Sports NRL
Shows NRL Grand Finals
Brands NRL
Release Date 06/08/2014
BHE Barcode 9318500055576
No of Discs 10
Classification E
Running Time (min) 890 mins
Media Type DVD
Box set Yes
Please note that not every product sold online by Beyond Home Entertainment may be available from every retail partner. Please enquire product availabilities from your selected retailer.
  Retailer Address Website

Related Products

View all products

FREE shipping in Australia for orders over $30

Select from more than 1500 products

Payment Methods:

Pay with: Mastercard, Visa